Click to Home
Go To Search
Current Mayor

Warsaw Mayor Joseph Thallemer is currently serving his second term as mayor, having been elected in November of 2011 and 2015. Previously, Mayor Thallemer served three terms as City Councilman At-Large, serving as City Council president during his last term. He was first appointed to the Warsaw Plan Commission in 1995 by then Mayor Jeff Plank, serving there for 13 years, the last eight as Plan Commission president.

As chairman of the Curbside Waste Task Force, he initiated the city-wide curbside recycling program in 2003. He also served on the Warsaw Traffic Commission, Kosciusko County Solid Waste Management District board, and the Warsaw Aviation Board. Mayor Thallemer was a member of both the Board of Public Works and Safety and the Warsaw/Wayne Township Fire Territory Board. He has also served as a member of the Deer Task Force since its inception.

Mayor Thallemer is a graduate of Warsaw Community High School; Ball State University, Pre-Optometry; and Indiana University, B.S., Doctor of Optometry. He established his Optometry practice in 1980. 

Thallemer first moved to Warsaw in 1972 from South Bend. He and his wife, Jill, have four children and one grandchild. Over the years, he has been involved in many church and school activities with his family, is a 30+ year member of the Warsaw Breakfast Optimist Club, and spent seven years on the local YMCA board, serving as president for the last two. He enjoys road biking and swimming, and has participated in thirteen Optimist triathlons.

To learn more, view information from the Mayor's Office.

City Hall  |  102 S. Buffalo Street  |  Warsaw, IN 46580
Privacy Policy  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Accessibility  |  Copyright Notice  |  Using Renewable Energy  |  Powered by CivicPlus